Skip to content

Why are you doing that move?

13/10/2009

Top tip for everyone…

Next time your training, when you are doing a move/exercise/drill/stretch etc, just ask yourself:

“Why am I doing this move?”

And make sure you give yourself a good, honest, detailed answer.  Don’t let it be the usual:

  • It’s what I have always done
  • I saw someone do something like it once
  • A bloke in the gym/magazine told me to do it
  • My coach/instructor/teacher told me to do it

Make sure you know exactly why you are doing it, and what it does.  So much of fitness/coaching/training is full of “stuff” that fills up the time between the beginning and end.  It is just padding.

There is a lovely person here in the gym at work who spends HOURS every day doing “stuff”.  They were doing a stretch I had never seen before, so I ask them what it is for and what it stretches…and they said “I don’t know.  I’ve always done it“.

Don’t let that be you!  Don’t be a parrot and copy and go through the motions mindlessly.  Find out why you are doing what you are doing.  Ask your coach/instructor/teacher and make sure they know why…and when you find out why you are doing something, ask just 1 more question…

…does it work?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/10/2009 8:11 pm

    Hi Cerin,

    Good post – I totally agree.

    Wondering if you saw a channel 4 documentary last night on the Human Spiderman. This guy is amazing and can be held up as a great inspiration to anyone who thinks our bodies and minds are held back by limits. What this guy does defies any notion of what is possible. I’ve written a short blog post about it with a link to his website. Check it out when you have a minute.

    http://jonnygetsfit.wordpress.com/2009/10/13/spiderman/

    Keep up the good work.

    Jonny

  2. 14/10/2009 8:23 am

    I was going to, but ended up watching the new David Attenborough series on BBC. God i love biology!
    But your right, that french guy is simply amazing! I love his quote too:
    “We set ourselves limits, but we are all strong enough to aim higher, to achieve our goals. All we have to do is find such strength within ourselves. Know how to develop it.”
    He is right, we all “choose” to hold ourselves back. All we need to do is “choose” to take the next little step.

Leave a Reply

